First Post - Restoration of mahogany ply jet boat from 1974.

Discussion in 'Wooden Boat Building and Restoration' started by Skookum, Apr 23, 2015.

1. Skookum

Skookum Junior Member

Hello all, greeting from the Yukon Territory. I am looking for a bit (or a lot) of input regarding a project I am about to start. I have some experience with this boat as well as a couple others in the past, part of me is shaking his head at all the other parts of me that are even considering getting into this.

That being said, the boat was given to me by a friend in 2007. His Father built it in 1974 with the help of another fellow. They built two boats of the same design, one @ 24 feet (mine) and another @ 20 feet. It is plywood construction and has a single layer of glass cloth currently covering the outside. The existing glass is poorly adhered in my estimation, we put it over a beaver dam in 2007 and stripped off two strips about 2" x 6 or 7 feet. We actually used it for a few more trips after this and the glass stuck so maybe it is on there better than I think....but I digress.

[​IMG]

It is powered by a 350 CU. Chev with a Hamilton 753 (3 stage) jet. When it was given to me, my friend was about to cut it into pieces and take it to the dump as it had been sitting in their business compound since 1993. I looked around as best I could and could not see any real reason it could not be put back into the water with a bit of work.

The reason it had been sitting for so long was they had built a big cabin on it and after the completion of the cabin, which was a heavy affair, they discovered it would no longer plane. It was basically abandoned.