First boat design

Discussion in 'Boat Design' started by Paul Henry, Mar 8, 2023.

1. Paul Henry

Paul Henry Junior Member

Hi everyone,

I have no experience in boat design yet and was wondering if some of the more experienced opinions would be able to advise me. I started building the plug a fortnight ago, the frame is made of maritime pine and the skin is made of MDF. I am now filling with plaster. The humidity is very high at the moment in France and the drying times are very long. I question everything in my spare time and I have come to doubt the initial shape of my boat. I'm ready to start again, but this time I want to be sure of the shape.

The basic idea is to get a 26' lenght boat, very wide out of the water early with the smallest possible engine, which explains the low V of the boat. There is still a bit of it in the bow to break the waves (the bay is not entirely protected from the waves). But I'm afraid my form is not good.

In fact I think the bow of the front of the boat starts too far forward. I have no idea of the final weight or centre of gravity of the boat, I just have a shape on Rhinoceros for now. Also I did'nt draw the lifting strakes but I planed to create 2 each side of the boat.

Some pictures are attached to this message, it would be so helpfull if some of you could tell me what they think about this draw. I can also send the Rhino field if required.
    (The transom angle is actually 15° unlike the Rhino images)

Thank you very much in advance,

Paul Henry.

Attached Files:

Last edited: Mar 8, 2023
  2. bajansailor

bajansailor Marine Surveyor

Welcome to the Forum Paul.

You are certainly jumping in at the deep end now!

This is something that you should have established (even a rough estimate initially) before you even started to build the plug.
    Are you planning on using this plug as a male mould to then build a foam sandwich fibreglass hull?