Fireboat 48 - a problem

Discussion in 'Jet Drives' started by aisha0808, Sep 8, 2009.

1. aisha0808

aisha0808 New Member

Hello guys.
    Im very new to this forum and got a problem. Any ideas will be welcomed.
    The big issue with this fireboat 48 (manufactured by Metal Craft Marine) it is the dirt collection
    Basically this boat have 2 pump that r sucking up the dirt but the grills are too big and marine roapes or plastic bottles are getting stucked into it so the cleaning have to be done manually.
    Now, i've been asking the manufacturer for a solution/idea and they never replied.
    Someone propose a smaller holes grill but that will affect the intake of the water.
    Someone else propose bigger pumps but they r sooo expensive.

Im not an engineer so Im not sure if i explained correctly but plz guys i really need help on this matter.

http://www.metalcraftmarine.com/html/firestorm_4648.html here u can see the boat im talking about.

2. baeckmo

baeckmo Hydrodynamics

Oh, your explanation is clear enough, the problem is very well known with water jet operators, and is a good reason to stay away from jets. It surprizes me that the jet supplier, Hamilton, has not responded to your signals!

The objects you mention are mostly more or less floating debris, which is following the hull bottom into the jet entrance. As you correctly notice, any reduction of grating openings will have a detrimental influence on the jets. What can be done is a stretch of the inlet tunnel, so that it will reach down below the hull bottom to form a "collar" outside the boundary layer.

This way, it is not collecting the debris that follows the bottom surface as easily as without this "collar". However, it is not a foolproof method, and the problems you might have with long algae will not be cured. Anyway, matching the shape and areas of this inlet is extremely critical for good performance, and must be done with due consideration of the flow necessary for the operating jet .