Fire damaged (gel coat tragedy)

Discussion in 'Fiberglass and Composite Boat Building' started by birch, Jul 22, 2011.

1. birch

birch Junior Member

A small gasoline fire near my boat caused a section of gel coat on the midway (the blue part) cracked or blistered or curdeled. do I need to sand the entire area to be repaired to the glass or just the flakes and fill the liitle missing gel coat spots before applying new coat Any help and advise is welcome as I am new to this kind of repair

2. tunnels

tunnels Previous Member

Back to the bare glass and a good area round it !!
    Coat with resin and re-sand then fill and prime and paint to spray gel-coat again !!
    The heat will have damaged the resin and made it very brittle so need to sand most of it off and then get some fresh resin and even a little glass back on the patch again .;)

3. Stumble

Stumble Senior Member

I would hope that either your or the boat that caught fire's insurance should cover any damage and repairs.

4. birch

birch Junior Member

no such insurance yet so it all me for labor. I hope to get some of the glass and paint done and I sand and polish. have a lot of gel sanded away.

5. gonzo

gonzo Senior Member

You should get someone knowledgeable to inspect the laminate. There could be structural damage too.

6. Landlubber

Landlubber Senior Member

birch, you have not said how big the boat is, but if it is ocean going, be very suspect of the damage, the glass resin will certainly have been affected, but it may simply be superficial.

7. birch

birch Junior Member