Finishing a new boat kit

Discussion in 'Boat Design' started by reelpleasure, Feb 24, 2013.

1. reelpleasure

reelpleasure Junior Member

Hello,

I am new to this forum. I am contemplating having built and then finishing a boat kit this coming year.

30 footer, solid glass hull, cored top and wash rails. Engine/transmission shaft rudder install.

Finishing the boat will include fuel tanks, steering, wiring lights, exhaust all the mechanical stuff. I have many years of experience in installing the mechanical stuff but what I have NOT done is finish work.

I have two ways to complete the boat. BTW, the boat will be a lobster/cruiser day boat, nothing fancy.

I'll have to build an enclosed head up front with a door. Frame in a very small fridge. Build the helm dash, decks, etc. There will be glassing, shaping fairing, rolled gel coat, nothing fancy.

I can build out the boat two ways.
    1. Using marine plywood, resins, tape, sand, lightly fair and roll on gel coat...
    or
    2. Use composite panels such as Coosa board, Divinycell, Nidacore and the like.

I'd guess 80% or more of the Maine lobster boats are finished out of wood with mat/resin/gel coat skins.

Boating is a passion/hobby of mine. I have the time and help to do the project.

I've never worked with deck putty, fiberglass mat, tape, fairing compounds or gel coat applications.

I want to do a "small project" or "piece" to get a sense of what's involved to do it right and get a "decent commercial grade pleasing to the eye durable finish that my kids are not ripping out and redoing 10 years from now.

I've read as much as I could find on weight savings of composites vs plywood,
    maybe 1/3 when completed.

Attached are a few pictures of what I'm asking about.
    The pics are various.
    Wood composite mix.
    100% composite panels taped with roll on gelcoat or sprayed.