How to learn boat design

Discussion in 'Education' started by Malibrodic, Dec 17, 2019.

1. Malibrodic

Malibrodic New Member

Hi,

After some reading it is time to make first post.
    First I want to say something about me. I have Bachelor degree in mechanical engineering and my plan is to finish Masters degree in mechanical engineering. I have a lot of experience with small wooden and plastic boats (I live by the sea whole life). I have started sailing but that experience is modest right now.
    Over the last few years I am more and more interested in boat design and construction. On our university we have Naval architecture course but they only teach boat design on large ships.

My question is: Is it possible to learn fundamentals of small boat design and sail boats on this forum?
    Is it better to research here and scribble around by yourself or to pay some online course?
    Of course after getting some basic knowledge plan is to get a job and learn in practice.

If I am posting spam thread please can you point me in the right direction.
    (Sorry for bad English)

2. bajansailor

bajansailor Marine Surveyor

3. BlueBell

BlueBell . . . _ _ _ . . . _ _ _

Mailbrodic,

Welcome to the forum.

I have a mechanical engineering background.
    What rate do you want to learn at?
    There is a lot of poor information out there.

Why do you want to learn?
    Do you want to design a boat?
    Do you want to build a boat?
    Or perhaps it's an academic exercise .

We can help you more if we know why and what you are after.

Cheers

bajansailor likes this.
  4. Ike

Ike Senior Member

Buy Principles of Yacht Design by Lars Larsson and Rolf Eliasson. It isn't cheap but it's about as thorough a text as there is.
    and of course there is the old standby, Elements of Yacht Design by Norman L Skene (also just called Skene's) It is a bit dated but the basic principles are there.