ply boat re-build/repair

Discussion in 'Boat Design' started by feral4mr2, Jul 14, 2007.

1. feral4mr2

feral4mr2 New Member

hello everyone, 1st post i think on these forums so i hope i've stuck it in the correct section!!
    i've just today been given (well was given months ago but towed away today) a marine ply/fibreglass half cabin fishing boat. (more marine ply than fibreglass by the looks of things!).
    i am rather skilled (self taught) in the works or fibreglass (through have had a little guidance through a couple of years from cliff kirchner in bundaberg, qld) but mainly used fibreglass with my cars and bodykits etc. i used to sail a fibreglass/wooden pelican down here in esperance many moons ago as a younger lad. haha

anyways, in a month or so i want to start repairing this boat. i ripped some of the floor up today and though bits of the inner hull where moist (didnt take pic sorry), it seemed to be intact and not rotten looking. the hull from outside is very solid. some sections of the cabin (marine ply with only paint) need to be replaced.

here are some pics of it, i thought it might of been a old bluefin, but it doesnt have ribs on the lower hull.
    [​IMG][​IMG][​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG][​IMG]

what i am wondering is.. is there a product available to be used on the inner hull ply to help either dry it out (other than the goodness of the sun) or condition it so i can fibreglass over it? i intend to strip the interior to a bare hull and fibreglass the whole interior hull and then build a new floor with marine ply/fibreglass.
    then i can rebuild or repair the front lounge section and skippers cabin with new marine ply/fibreglass sandwhich. i also plan to make a ~2' pod off the rear that will house the outboards and act as sealed bouancy tanks, fixed to the transom. this will also some create more space on the deck.