Little fishing floaty thing

Discussion in 'Multihulls' started by Mark Wybierala, Nov 4, 2020.

1. Mark Wybierala

Mark Wybierala Junior Member

I’m hoping that I’m n the right place to get a little advice.
    I will apologize in advance for being on a forum with true boat builders and sailors. These things I am not. I’m actually a guitar maker and luthier. I am 61 and a few years ago had an incident which left me with a balance problem. My goal here is an electric powered fishing platform for tidal creeks near me for my son and I. If I were not dangerous a canoe would be perfect.

I have a 16’ Old Town canoe that was originally built as a sailing canoe. I purchased it about a month ago for not a lot of money. Despite being in good shape, I have none of the original sailing hardware or fittings - it is just a canoe. I’ve taken it out on a calm lake with my 27 year-old son and it is not stable enough so I’m building outriggers.

The canoe is built from a type of epoxy. White, it’s in good enough condition to actually be respectable looking with a single days effort. It has no damage. It’s light enough for me to load up on top of my vehicle myself.

The current plan is to take a windsurfing board and cut it down the middle to yield a pair of stabilizers. I have acquired two windsurfing boards for cheap. (I have the 2nd board if I mess up the first). Both boards are generally flat bottomed except the forward 1/3rd. They both displace 85 kg/liters. I’m probably going to loose about 15 kg of displacement as I reshape the deck of the board to flat. I’ll end up with a pair of 6’ long streamlined stabilizers with a displacement of 30 to 35kg each. I’m up for the task of reshaping the board, cutting it down the center and doing the glass/epoxy work.