fiberglassing wood lapstrake/keel

Discussion in 'Wooden Boat Building and Restoration' started by wooden Grady, Apr 22, 2006.

1. wooden Grady

wooden Grady New Member

I have a 1963 Grady White runabout. It has a wooden lapstrake hull, on which the bottom four laps are already coated (I don't know how many years ago) with fiberglass. It's where the hull meets the keel that's the problem.

There is no fiberglass in the keel, although there used to be. I remember when I was young helping my dad cut it off. The fiberglass also used to cover the transom, which I would like also tackle. Finally, the lapstrake is painted white, the gunnels, deck, and transom are poly.

My questions:

Do I need to take the hull and keel down to bare wood in order to fiberglass? I'm guessing yes, I am a painter and I know that gets best adhesion with paints, but resin is different maybe??

What type resin and fiberglass is best for this type of project? This boat is used almost exclusively in fresh water, if that matters.

Thanks very much everyone. feel free to email if it's convenient.

Paul

2. marshmat

marshmat Senior Member

The purists here might say your boat was never meant to be glassed and should be left as plain wood. If the glass appears to not be part of the original build, this could be the case, and you might consider restoring it to factory wood-bottom condition.
    Having said that: If you do want to redo the glass, you will probably have the best luck taking all of it off, then using a modern marine epoxy resin to lay up new glass. Fibreglass does bond to old fibreglass but it's tricky to get it to work, and not as strong. Modern epoxies are an order of magnitude better in all respects than the resins available in 1963.

3. wooden Grady

wooden Grady New Member

Matt,