Repair of a broken kayak?

Discussion in 'Fiberglass and Composite Boat Building' started by TiGer81, Apr 22, 2012.

1. TiGer81

TiGer81 Junior Member

Hi Guys,

First of all, sorry for my English. :)

I need help and advice as many of you seem very experienced in composite boat building and repair.

I could buy the kayak on the attached pictures for approx 350$. It has never been used (saved from a sunk ship by a diver) but its hull is damaged and there are some other minor issues with it (steering) in addition. It has been stored on the concrete yard for about a year.

Actually my question is if it is worth it to buy? If I bought it I would try to repair it myself but I have no experience in that kind of job. I built something from fiberglass and epoxy 7 years ago but it was not a boat.
    What is the process of a repair like this? What material do I need? (in addition to fiberglass, epoxy (or polyesther?) resin and gel coat.
    What tools do I need?
    What are the work steps and what is especially needed to take care on?

Thus I would like to ask for (detailed) instructions, advices and everything that can be use- and helpful.

Greetings,
    TiGer

from Norway

Attached Files:

2. alan white

alan white Senior Member

The kayak is probably not a good deal if you counted every hour you will spend repairing it but...
    The price is right and my guess is you'll spend another $50-100 to make it perfect. It could be done for much less if you already had purchased bulk supplies for use with other boats, but of course you'll have to buy whole containers of epoxy, etc., to do the job.
    Your labor can't be counted as worth much at all since you will take a lot of time to do the job right. Of course, if you enjoy (or can use) the experience, then it's definitely worth it.

3. gonzo

gonzo Senior Member