Moomba Boomerang Rebuild

Discussion in 'Fiberglass and Composite Boat Building' started by markedenfield, Jan 12, 2012.

1. markedenfield

markedenfield Rookie Boat Repair

Greetings - I'm new to this forum but thankfully I located it. I'm also new to boat repair so I need some help. If I'm in the wrong forum area, please let me know.
    My son and I purchased a 1996 19' Moomba Boomerang. It's a ski/wakeboarding boat. It runs a 351 Windsor motor with a straight drive propeller system. We purchased the boat knowing the engine beds were dry rotted and kinda figured there may be some stinger issues as well. We guessed right. If I can figure it out, I'll post some photos and then I'll start with the questions if allowed.
    The boat has two stringers with multiple ribs that do not reach the side of the boat. The engine beds appear to be made out of 4x4 stock and glassed over. There is major damage up under the deck and getting up there will be a challenge. The top cap is glassed on so I guess the first question is how do we get the top cap off? We already removed the rub rail and all associated screws, went around (carefully) with a wide chisel and now somehow I guess we have to cut the glass that attaches the top. How do we do that?

Attached Files:

1 person likes this.
  2. tunnels

tunnels Previous Member

Greeting !!You doing the right thing and a totall strip out is a good place to start . then clean it 100% and do any modificaions and repairs and slowly re build back to better than before Fantastic !!good luck . will be at work soom and will look closely at the pictures you have posted .
    :p:D:p

3. markedenfield

Thank You