Fiberglass grinding mistake correction

Discussion in 'Fiberglass and Composite Boat Building' started by jsfindley, Aug 6, 2018.

1. jsfindley

jsfindley Junior Member

I am a noob at fiberglass and boat repair. I have an old 1978 RK 20 I have been working on to learn these skills. I was using a random orbital sander to remove the paint and gel-coat down to the fiberglass for a repair. This was taking forever, so I did some looking through forums like this one. I found that people were using 60 or 80 grit flap disks on an angle grinder. I tried this, but I think I did it wrong. I hope I didn't ruin the hull. I only have a 4" grinder. I used the 80 grit flap disk. I didn't notice through all of the caked up dust, but after I finished grinding away the paint, I found that there were ripples in the fiberglass. I guess I should use fairing compound or somehow sand it the slow way so that it is smooth and lay an additional layer of fiberglass in this section. I'm not sure what to do. Can someone help. Thanks.

2. Blueknarr

Blueknarr Senior Member

Welcome,

Breathe a sigh of relief. As long as you didn't use a blowtorch, it can be repaired.

Picture with a thousand words. Unit then all I can do is guess.

You probably needed to remove some glass anyway. Glass is typically ground out at 12:1. So 12 inches wide for every inch down.

Probably smooth ridges with soft sander before re-glassing.

Normal order of materials:
    Glass, fairing, gelcoat/paint.

Unusual to want fairing in the middle of glass work.

Good luck

3. jsfindley

jsfindley Junior Member

I know fairing shouldn't come in the middle. I wasn't sure how to get the fiberglass back smooth easily. I was sort of trying to brainstorm and think outside of the box to find a solution. I am just not sure what to do next. I'll send a pic when I get home from work today.

4. Blueknarr

Blueknarr Senior Member

Cool