fiberglass canoe construction

Discussion in 'Boatbuilding' started by hfxpiper2, Sep 13, 2011.

1. hfxpiper2

hfxpiper2 Junior Member

Hi, I’m looking to build a 14' river canoe out of fiberglass with this mold I’ve recently acquired. The mold is a half mold in which the fiberglass would be laid on the inside (female mold) the two halves once produced must then be attached together.
    As I’ve never built a fiberglass canoe before I have a few questions about it
    - My biggest question is how many layers of fiberglass should I lay and what types of fiberglass should I use to build a sturdy yet relatively light weight
    - As far as supports / reinforcements I’m curious as to what kind of materials are needed if they are needed.

If anyone has ever built a canoe with a halve mold any information or advice would be greatly appreciated.
    Thank you

2. pistnbroke

pistnbroke I try

first I think we need a photo of the mould to see what type of canoe it is ..certainly polyester resin will be much cheaper but how thick depends on how strong you need it and that dependent on your use ....you could build it thin and then add extra layers to the inside if you feel its too weak.....photo ..no need to host them just go advanced and add as an attachment ...click the paper clip symbol.......

3. PAR

PAR Yacht Designer/Builder

Are you sure they are half molds and the hull shell is bonded down the centerline or is it a mold that's designed to be used, clamped together and the hull shell popped out whole, by separating the halves?

I you want a heavy canoe, use polyester. If you want lighter use vinylester, if you want really light then consider epoxy.

4. hfxpiper2

hfxpiper2 Junior Member

heres some pictures
    P140911_11.23.jpg

P140911_11.24.jpg

P140911_11.26.jpg

P140911_11.25.jpg

P140911_11.26_[01].jpg
    from what i understand you build one half, then take it out and build the other. then im supposed to attach the two some how.

5. pistnbroke

pistnbroke I try