How would you finish this console?

Discussion in 'Fiberglass and Composite Boat Building' started by stephentyler20, Apr 6, 2010.

1. stephentyler20

stephentyler20 Junior Member

First off... boat is an '88 Wellcraft 210 in otherwise good shape.

I've done a lot of restoration to the rest of the boat - the last nagging thing is this console. It was originally a black fiberglass cap (pictured below), which housed the stock gauges, buttons, etc. I came to despise the appearance of it, and vowed to replace it this spring.

Well, I've removed the cap (just screwed in), and found that underneath is it a semi-finished fiberglass surface, with ugly holes roughly cut out to accommodate the gauges and switch panels.

Now, I should say I have ZERO fiberglass experience, but I want to learn, and I've done a lot of homework. My buddy told me that I should plug up the holes with plywood (which I've done, see the picture), coat the whole thing in mold release, then layup fiberglass mat on top until I have a suitable "cap" of sorts (similar to OEM design but much simpler and more "marine" looking). Then, sand, fill, fair, paint that so I have a finished surface. Then I can attach it to the surface more permanently using hex screws or a hinge or something, and install the gauges in that (it would then be serviceable, too).

I'm wondering what you all think of this idea? What makes me anxious is the finishing part - that is, sanding, filling, etc to get a smooth glossy surface. To me, this seems like it will be excessively difficult. Is that true?

I'd really welcome all suggestions, whether for this idea (such as what materials/methods to use) and for other ideas. Specifically, how will I lay up the fiberglass on the vertical surface without it sloughing off?

Old:
    [​IMG]

Current:
    [​IMG]

2. mark775

mark775 Guest