Ferrocement ship revival?

Discussion in 'Boat Design' started by Rocktheboat, Jan 15, 2018.

1. Rocktheboat

Rocktheboat New Member

Hello,

I'm new here and hope to add an interesting topic of conversation.

I have two thoughts on building ships, although I am not a shipbuilder yet, I am a builder of homes and such.

First off, I love Wolf Hilbertz' research seawater electrodisposition and the ability to put a metal frame charged with low voltage in seawater to accumulate caco3 and mgho as a concrete ferrocement. I feel many things are possible with that technology, boat building being on of them.

With newer conductive paints, metal armatures could be replaced with fiberglass rods painted with conductive nanocarbon paints so that electro accretion can take place on the frame of a hull.

Now my real question for your forum is... With the evolution of fiberglass reinforcement rods and fiberglass reinforced concrete mix technology who is to say that ferrocement ship design could not be brought back into the mainstream? (Check out the concrete countertop institute in North Carolina) they do amazing stuff with GFRC , stronger, thinner slabs that have extreme flexibility and crack resistance.

If one could design a ferrocement ship with a fiberglass rod matrix as the armature then sprayed the GFRC mixture onto the armature you could eliminate the negatives of ferrocement ship designs of the past, water penetration that led to corrosion of metal armatures.

Would this be viable with new developments and materials?

2. PAR

PAR Yacht Designer/Builder

Welcome to the forum.