Junk Rigging, a question on suitability

Discussion in 'Sailboats' started by Jislizard, Jan 27, 2010.

1. Jislizard

Jislizard Junior Member

Hello, I have no previous sailing experience but I have always (since the early 80s anyway) wanted a Chinese Junk. It is the look and elegance of the hull and the sails that I am interested in. Sailing abilities are at this moment a secondary consideration but should probably be taken into consideration before buying any plans.

I have joined a boat club to get some practice in but there are no junk rigs and no one yet will admit to having sailed in one.

A few of the sailors I talked to mentioned that junk rigs were only good for catching the trade winds and are terrible at going into the wind. they also mentioned how unsafe they were and that wooden boats were a liability.

All-in-all not very positive. They showed me the wood on a few boats and I agree that the Australian sun is pretty harsh, they are all faded or blistered and look pretty tatty after apparently only 3 months or so in the sun. Can you get a canopy to cover them as you can with cars?

For sailing into the wind they recommended buying a really big engine. How bad are they at sailing into the wind?

It was just the safety issue that is the concern at the moment. Are they really that unsafe? Any vessel in my hands at the moment would be but are these even more dangerous?

Does anyone on the forums have any up-to-date experience on Junk rigs? The boaties in the club were talking about the ones back in the 60s/early 70s though with the design I was looking at http://www.jonquedeplaisance.net/index2.html there doesn't seem to be much in the way of changes in shape.

I have read a few forums from people who have junks but they are in the minority so there must be a reason for it. they also only mentioned the pleasures of junk sailing and not any of the drawbacks.

Thanks in advance

MArk

2. ancient kayaker

ancient kayaker aka Terry Haines