Fastest powerboat hull

Discussion in 'Powerboats' started by tommyboy3310, Oct 30, 2017.

1. tommyboy3310

tommyboy3310 New Member

I want to design a 30 to 40 foot boat, I am wondering which hull type I should choose to be capable of its top speed? I also want it to have a luxurious , big cuddy cabin on the inside (also I am assumming no inner motor, only outboard). If anyone can point me in the right direction of hull type, design program suggestions, design ideas for the inside. I am very new to boat design and I was stoked to find this website, hoping to learn from the experts! Thanks!
    Thomas Pitera

2. gonzo

gonzo Senior Member

Any hull will be capable of its designed top speed if built as designed and with the specified power installed. If you have a target speed, that would be part of your statement of requirements (SOR), which is the starting point of the design. It should also include a more precise length (30 to 40 is a huge difference), what exactly do you mean by luxurious ( that will greatly affect size and weights), operating conditions, etc.

3. tommyboy3310

tommyboy3310 New Member

I would like to reach about 75 mph, lets say 30 foot (easier to make a smaller boat go faster) and i want a "house boat" interior, a bed, kitchen, bathroom, tv. I want to use the boat to go on the ocean so im thinking v hull but then I thought the tri hull may be able to obtain a higher top speed

4. PAR

PAR Yacht Designer/Builder