help:CFD Transient

Discussion in 'Hydrodynamics and Aerodynamics' started by leviathan, Jul 25, 2012.

1. leviathan

leviathan New Member

Hi all,

I'm Hardiana, an undergraduate student of Sepuluh Nopember Institute of technology from Naval architect department. Currently I'm doing my final project with the topic of hydrofoil. I have to simulate the hydrofoil craft using CFD in a transient condition of velocity. I'm a newbie in CFD and I don't have any idea what software I should use. Is there anyone that could give me some advices, please?

Best regards,
    Hardiana :D

2. PI Design

PI Design Senior Member

Don't do it!

Transient flow on a hydrofoil is far from trivial - I don't think it is a good idea to attempt this for a uni project (much too complex and time consuming). It is far better to do something simple well, than something difficult averagely.

If you persist, unless you use Openfoam or some other open source software, you'll have to use whatever the university has licenses of (Fluent, CFX, CCM+ etc).

3. Tim B

Tim B Senior Member

I'm with PI on this one. Transient CFD (especially with free surfaces) is not easy.

Consider a writing a 2 DOF dynamics model to model the vessel, and come up with a "semi-empircal" model for the foils. You need to consider angle of attack, proximity to the surface, a bit of lifting line theory etc. etc.

That's far more achievable, and in all likelyhood, more useful.

Tim B.

4. tspeer

tspeer Senior Member

I'm not sure what you mean by a "transient condition of velocity". There are many possible transient conditions, ranging from seakeeping (traveling through waves) to maneuvering (turning, acceleration/deceleration), to stability (small motion about an equilibrium condition). Each of these requires a somewhat different approach, and it would take a very sophisticated model to be used for all of them.