Transom Brace Weld

Discussion in 'Metal Boat Building' started by LAURASDAD, Feb 27, 2007.

1. LAURASDAD

LAURASDAD New Member

Hello,

I am a newbie so forgive me if this is the wrong forum. I just bougt an aluminum bass boat. There is a brace on the inside of the transom. The brace's weld has failed where it meets the floor.

Is this a major issue? I had a welder look at it and he said it wouldn't take a weld. It was previously welded and whatever they previously used was preventing a new weld from taking.

thanks for any advise

Larry

2. charmc

charmc Senior Member

Welcome

Larry,

Welcome to the forum. Any guy who signs himself as his daughter's dad must be a good guy!

In a former life, when I ran a small equipment rebuilding shop, we once had a bad crack in a vacuum pump casting repaired successfully by braizing, so I know it might work.

This company says their braizing rod is an advance over what we used 15-20 years ago. I don't know this company's product from personal experience, but they say the rod will work on aluminum repairs when conventional welding will not. Maybe it will work for your boat; there is a lot of info available to evaluate it, and they sell a kit for under $100.

http://www.aluminumrepair.com/index.asp

I hope it works out for you.

Good luck,

Charlie

3. sal's Dad

sal's Dad Atkin/Bolger fan

I have to agree...

4. charmc

charmc Senior Member

That's great!

(Full disclosure, I'm Erin's Dad)

5. timgoz

timgoz Senior Member

Sounds like this might have been caused by repetetive stress, in which case just welding it might result in a short-lived repair. Consider beefing up the immeidiete surrounding area. A backing plate opposite the brace or insetting a slightly heavier piece of aluminum hull into an appropriatly cut out area might work.

Welcome to the forum.

TGoz

6. messabout

messabout Senior Member

Consult another welder.

7. LAURASDAD

LAURASDAD New Member

Thanks