extracting body lines from 3D cad model

Discussion in 'Software' started by aziziyeng, Nov 7, 2021.

  1. aziziyeng
    Joined: Jul 2009
    Posts: 8
    Likes: 0, Points: 1, Legacy Rep: 10
    Location: iran

    aziziyeng Junior Member

    hello
    Is there any way to extract body lines from 3D cad model of a ship directly in a software?
     
  2. TANSL
    Joined: Sep 2011
    Posts: 6,811
    Likes: 499, Points: 93, Legacy Rep: 300
    Location: Spain

    TANSL Senior Member

    With Rhino, for example, it is quite comfortable. With AutoCAD it can also be achieved but it is more laborious.
     
  3. aziziyeng
    Joined: Jul 2009
    Posts: 8
    Likes: 0, Points: 1, Legacy Rep: 10
    Location: iran

    aziziyeng Junior Member

    thanks
     
  4. TANSL
    Joined: Sep 2011
    Posts: 6,811
    Likes: 499, Points: 93, Legacy Rep: 300
    Location: Spain

    TANSL Senior Member

  5. aziziyeng
    Joined: Jul 2009
    Posts: 8
    Likes: 0, Points: 1, Legacy Rep: 10
    Location: iran

    aziziyeng Junior Member

    Thanks a lot dear TANSL for your reply.
    can you say with more detail what should I do in Rhino? Does it need Archcut plug-in?
     

  6. Olav
    Joined: Dec 2003
    Posts: 321
    Likes: 46, Points: 38, Legacy Rep: 460
    Location: Filia pulchra Lubecæ

    Olav naval architect

    aziziyeng,

    no special plug-in needed, just use the "section" command in Rhino. ;-)

    With something like RhinoMarine (discontinued as far as I know) or Orca3D it's of course much more comfortable, but it's not a necessity.
     
Loading...
Forum posts represent the experience, opinion, and view of individual users. Boat Design Net does not necessarily endorse nor share the view of each individual post.
When making potentially dangerous or financial decisions, always employ and consult appropriate professionals. Your circumstances or experience may be different.