Exposed or Enclosed Propeller Shaft?

Discussion in 'Hydrodynamics and Aerodynamics' started by AlreadyWet, May 7, 2014.

1. AlreadyWet

AlreadyWet Junior Member

I’m not an engineer...of any kind…or studying to be one. However, in my personal research I have read that a spinning shaft in a fluid environment (water for this case) actual increases in diameter because of the surface tension of the water thus making it less efficient. However, the information I read assumes the angle of attack for the shaft is perpendicular to the fluid.

My question is specifically, which would be more hydro dynamically efficient:

1) An exposed shaft of .875” in diameter, 36” long, with an attack angle of 6*, a rotational velocity of 10,000 RPM’s and a linear velocity of 176 ft./sec.

2) Or… the same shaft enclosed in an elliptical hydrodynamic strut?

This seems to have been a debate for many years and any feedback would be appreciated!

AW

2. Mr Efficiency

Mr Efficiency Senior Member

Seeing 10,000 rpm is orders of magnitude greater than shaft rotation speeds in practical use, this exercise seems somewhat academic.

3. Rurudyne

Rurudyne Senior Member

You want to go a scootch over 104kts? Or is 176ft/sec too high?

4. AlreadyWet

AlreadyWet Junior Member

Sorry mate, but don't understand your comment. There are thousands of examples of this already in use.

My question was simply to determine which example would provide the least hydrodynamic drag on the vessel. IE. a boat traveling 120 MPH or 104 Knots!

5. Mr Efficiency

Well, I think your comment about the shaft growing in diameter at high speeds was a struggle to follow, so we're even. :D

6. waikikin

waikikin Senior Member

AW,
    open shaft at that speed

7. AlreadyWet

AlreadyWet Junior Member

waikikin,

Thank much for the answer! It seems it was pretty obvious to you, but kind of defies conventional wisdom...obviously why they call it conventional.