exposed carbon fiber

Discussion in 'Fiberglass and Composite Boat Building' started by mberry, Jan 26, 2017.

1. mberry

mberry Junior Member

Hi,

I am a newbie to the scene, currently with a thought of building my own boat. will do a heap of practice prior if i decide to head down that route.
    anyhow....
    My question relates to exposed carbon fiber, Id like to have exposed carbon fiber hulls (will be a cat) with a high gloss finish. I have read that dark coatings can effect the epoxy and also clears over carbon can go chalky.

Is there away around this? different resins etc?

i know there are a few exposed hulls hitting the market, dont think they will give too much info out so hoping you guys will help me out.

again a complete newbie with just a thought at this stage and would appreciate any info thanks in advance.

2. ondarvr

ondarvr Senior Member

There are several things that can affect the outcome, size of boat, will it be kept in the water, etc.

There are clear coatings that can be used over carbon/epoxy laminates to help prevent UV dergedation. They can be used in-mold or applied later.

3. mberry

mberry Junior Member

It will be sitting on a trailer and probably not under cover (if its like my current boat)
    Looking at around the 26ft mark, foam core. Cant justify making a mould unless it works out i can make and sell a few but i dont see that being an option

4. ondarvr

ondarvr Senior Member

5. mberry

mberry Junior Member

Awesome stuff.

6. SukiSolo

SukiSolo Senior Member

One other thing to remember is the colour of the epoxy. Most of the laminating resins are clear(ish) or near clear but the hardeners vary a lot, from amber through green etc etc. You can find clear base resins and hardeners with good mechanical properties if you look hard enough. These are used for commercial aircraft and some medical devices. This 'base' colour in the epoxy will affect the eventual colour of the surface of the laminate to some degree.