How to get started with flowscience's "FLOW-3D" ?

Discussion in 'Software' started by Tcubed, Mar 12, 2009.

1. Tcubed

Tcubed Boat Designer

I got a program called Flow-3D and i'm able to import into it a stereolithographic file of my design fom Rhino.

That's about as far as i'm getting, as it is all very unfamiliar to me.

I studied Mathematics and Fluid Dynamics but have little experience using CFD software. All i want to be able to do right now is simulate free surface, hydrostatically varying pressure with deep water.

In a word; figure out the drag for my various designs.

Maybe some one familiar with the program can help me input correctly so i can get started, usually these things get easier to learn once the program basics are understood.

Thanks.

2. Ad Hoc

Ad Hoc Naval Architect

If you are unfamiliar then you need to "understand" the limitations of the program.
    Firstly, model a simple shape, a pipe for example. There are encyclopedias of data on pipe flow. Find one. Then model it in your program. Compare the results. They wont be the same..but how much difference a small amount or a large amount?

Then progress into cylinders. Again check the results against well known and established formulae/experimentation. Again see where the errors are.

Then model a foil. Again check against the voluminous known data. If the program cannot get any of these correct, especially the foil data, then do not use it, period.

If all is going well....get a model of a hull that you have the hull shape electronically and also tank test results. Then again, as above input and compare.

Then try the same but with various different hull forms, such as monohulls and then multihulls. And all at various speeds, again with known tank test data.

If you have the patience to try all the above, then may be it is a tool that you may wish to use. If you do not have the patience for this, then it is the wrong tool for you.