1947 Steel Sailboat on the hard

Discussion in 'Sailboats' started by underseahunter, Dec 2, 2012.

1. underseahunter

underseahunter New Member

Hello,

I am a newbie to this forum, drawn here by reading some of the posts and knowledgeable responses, also because some of the cantankerous replies were very well argued. I would just ask for no "Flames" please.

I just recently bought this boat, because I want her to sail again...

He is the scope of it:

This ~ 38 foot STEEL sailboat was built "ostensibly" by A.E. Watson in 1947 in either Beckenham, or Southhampton England. Designed by an American Naval Architect for an RAF Group Commander. After considerable time afloat, and ATW travel it ended up here in south Florida, where she was hauled out, partially re-hulled, and has been sitting on the hard since ~1989. During that time her decks were converted from wooden decks to an all steel design, also the mast from a keel stepped mast to a deck stepped arrangement. I have some names and correspondence associated with her and her original owners, but haven't dove that deep into the research end as yet.

The previous owner (who did most of the refitting to date) is a cantankerous ancient guy who, in the bitter end of his retirement and apparently frustrated in his efforts to get her back in the water gave up completely... so he won't answer any of my questions, he is suffering from "schadenfreude." Hoarding his knowledge out of spite, seemingly. But who cares, I don't have time for negativism.

So I bought this steel sailboat for scrap value. The diesel motor has been removed from the boat for safekeeping and rebuilding. It is a Westerbeke 4 cylinder of unknown year, but not frozen with attached transmission. The Aluminum mast is some 40 feet long/tall and of an oval shape. There are sails, but they have yet to be unfurled for inspection.