This is how much sailing yachts cost.

Discussion in 'All Things Boats & Boating' started by Eric Sponberg, Sep 6, 2006.

1. Eric Sponberg

Eric Sponberg Senior Member

Over the last five years, I have been tracking the costs of new production and custom sailing yachts as published in the US in some of the major yachting magazines. With over 150 boats in the database, I studied cost against various design parameters and found that cost plotted against length or displacement showed the clearest trends. Length is a better determinant than displacement, showing narrower divergence. For what it is worth, I post the graphs here.

Eric

Attached Files:

2. Crag Cay

Crag Cay Senior Member

Very interesting.

Your middle fit line on Cost/Length graph supports my assertion that boats double in price from 40 to 50 feet (360000 to 729000 USD).

Do you have any theories on how to make clients understand this? I'm sure the graphs will help, but I've found my cautionary advice is never as powerful as a wife's plea for a little more space in the galley / heads / lockers or his 'need' for a larger wheel, etc.

3. Alik

Alik Senior Member

What if we plot (Cost/DISPL)=f(LOA)? I mean how the cost of 1 kg boat changes from length.

I used to tell the customer: we increase the length by 10%, the cost increases 30%. i.e. proportional to displacement. This is rough explaination. But sometimes the principle does not work if equipment is same :)

4. Raggi_Thor

Raggi_Thor Nav.arch/Designer/Builder

Interesting indeed!
    I did a simmilar comparision a few years ago and found that sail area was an important factor. It costs more to build a boat light and strong with a heavy keel and large rig.

5. Eric Sponberg

Alik and Raggi_Thor,
    I calculated Cost/pound and Cost/foot and plotted them against lenght and weight, and the data scatters all over creation--there are no recognizeable trends. Cost vs. Length and Cost vs. Displ. are the only parameters to see changes and trends clearly.