speaker design

Discussion in 'Boat Design' started by mere, Sep 4, 2010.

1. mere

mere Junior Member

hey guys, Im an industrial design student and our latest project is to
    design a left and right speaker. Im trying to collect feed back from sailors and
    I would love to hear your opinions.

Im not redisigning any electrical componets, my interest is in redesigning
    the use/interaction with the product (if it could be better) and the speaker
    housing/design

So tell me a few things, maybe something you've always complained about to
    others, why something was bad, or why something was good. Are you a liveaboard sailor, etc. Maybe the social interactions that come about from it. Tell me where your speakers are located, how you installed them, etc.. I hope to improve your lives one day

2. dskira

dskira Previous Member

You mean a fog horn :D

Daniel

3. alan white

alan white Senior Member

I'd like to see speakers with handy volume and tone controls on them. Also a radio. Maybe a cd player mounted somewhere. There could also be a battery bank for listening where there's no outlets.
    Also a very pretty blond girl to hold it for me and compliment me on my boat work. Maybe she could sing softly along with the music, maybe not, depending on her voice.

4. spare parts

spare parts Junior Member

personally I need speakers that are not suseptable to salt water intrusion or damp enviroments or fish remnants,
    perhaps stainless steel speaker frames and non ferrous materails or sealed in such a way as to not inhibit performance of sound but still keep out contaminants... the surrounds should be made possibly of carbon fiber directional, or kevlar.. or some material that simply doesnt rot or decay from weather or sun. voice coils should be made of perhaps coated monel wire.