Epoxy vs Vinyl vs Polly

Discussion in 'Materials' started by RichardM, Dec 7, 2005.

1. RichardM

RichardM New Member

I am boat shopping and I'm fairly new to boating and I'm confused by the different types of resins and methods being employed. Everyone seems to agree vacuum bag wet-out and epoxy resin apears to be the superior method of hull construction. Lighter, stronger, more stiff, better bonding, lower water transmitence and overall most cost effective.
    If it were simply a matter of economics, i.e. epoxy cost more than vinyl and vilyl more than polly I could understand why manufacturers choose different methods, but I am finding sport fish boats fabricated with epoxy construction competitively priced to their polly and vinyl counterparts.
    Am I missing something? Why don't all builders use epoxy?

2. gonzo

gonzo Senior Member

Polyester resin costs about 1/4 of epoxy. It is also easier to use. It wets faster and the mix ratio is not as critical. For medium performance applications, where minimum weight is not necessary, epoxy is a waste. On the other hand, the cost of the hull is maybe 10% of the total boat. That means that using epoxy increases the total cost by 15-20%.

3. Deering

Deering Senior Member

Epoxy is clearly superior in most respects. If I could buy the same boat, for the same price, in either epoxy or polyester, epoxy wins hands down, regardless of the usage. Different boats, different prices... now you need to consider other factors as well.

Did that help? No? Sorry... welcome to boating.

4. John ilett

John ilett Senior Member

Poly or Viynelester boats can all use gelcoats to get the nice durable and glossy moulded finish whereas epoxy gelcoats do not really exist. For a moulded epoxy hull a poly gel can be applied with extra tie coats or needs to be painted which is not so durable.

5. RichardM

RichardM New Member

Thanks John. I thought urethanes were taking the place of gelcoats o0n epoxy hulls.

6. Raggi_Thor