Really - Automotive or Marine Paint

Discussion in 'Materials' started by Griff, Jan 5, 2007.

1. Griff

Griff Junior Member

I am finally going to make that Blue stripe down the side of my 210 Wellcraft look as new as the rest of my boat looks. My wife says fix it, sell the boat or just stop talking about it. I figure a new boat is too expensive and I'm the kind of guy that looses sleep over minute things like this. After years of use, the blue stripe has some inperfections(scratches), and the small area that is submerged in water at the back of the boat is faded which just drives me crazy to look at. The stripe is actually about two foot wide and goes the entire length of the boat, so its not really a small stripe. It is the orginal gelcoat. I am not a professional, but I live to tinker with this boat and other toys and have done my share of back yard paint jobs that honestly turned out very nice. Now, I am not a boat builder and I can't claim to understand some of the terminology used when it comes to paint on this website, but what I lack in experience and knowledge I make up for in determination and patience. While scannining through the threads I have found many different people that have somewhat similar situations, but nothing that gives me that warm fuzzy feeling or the confidence to jump into a weeks worth of preporation in the shop. Could someone take a few moments and give some advice. Please take into account that this is not a new boat, but I want my work to look like it is. I don't want to mess with Gelcoat, so that is out. The million dollar question is, can I use automotive basecoat/clearcoat paint with an expoxy primer in this area and get away with it. Understand that I live on the east coast and the boat only sits in the water(fresh) about three months of the year. If I can, does anyone have a paint brand that they personally have used on this type of application. I like PPG. I would like to hear any tricks. If Automotive paint can't be used, wha