epoxy sensitivity

Discussion in 'Fiberglass and Composite Boat Building' started by freddyj, Aug 9, 2016.

1. freddyj

freddyj Senior Member

I've been building my ply/epoxy boat for 3 years now, and I didn't take proper precautions due to my own stupidity, and now I have a sensitivity to epoxy. I think I'll be able to stay covered up enough to finish this project, but I'm looking forward to the next one and was wondering what my options are regarding resins other than epoxy. Polyester? Vinylester? Are they as strong bonding as epoxy?

2. mydauphin

mydauphin Senior Member

if you started your build with epoxy it's very hard to switch back to a resin. epoxy will glue resin resin will not glue to epoxy. one trick that I have used in the past and mind you I am not sensitive epoxy even though I've been working with it for close to 35 years is spray WD-40 on your arms and hands and legs if necessary before you put on two sets of gloves. you might also want to wear a mask as big as possible cover most of your face and hope it works for you.

3. freddyj

freddyj Senior Member

I'm gonna cover up good and finish this one with epoxy. But I was just wondering if the other resins are as good as epoxy. I know polyester has a crappy secondary bond. But what else is out there?

4. rasorinc

rasorinc Senior Member

Epoxy is the top of the line as far as adhesives go. Far stronger than the others.

5. PAR

PAR Yacht Designer/Builder

The WD-40 thing works, but isn't a very good idea, considering what it is. To address you epoxy sensitivity, you need to switch brands and stay away from it for a while. Which brand are you using, as some are worse than others? Switching to one of the "non-blush" brands can help a lot.