Epoxy glue questions

Discussion in 'Wooden Boat Building and Restoration' started by mojodad, Feb 20, 2013.

1. mojodad

mojodad Junior Member

So you guys using thickened epoxy as glue, do you use any nails or screws also or just the epoxy? I'm thinking for a plywood boat like Michalak's jon jr.

Thanks

2. mojodad

mojodad Junior Member

One more question. I've never worked with epoxy before. I'm looking at the Raka epoxy. Do you typically use fast cure hardener or a mixture of fast/slow? Michalak suggests fast in his book. I'm working outside it 50-60 degree weather. Thanks.

3. michael pierzga

michael pierzga Senior Member

Epoxy cure choice depends on the component assembly time and the working temp of your shop . I prefer slow cure for large laminates and Medium for everyday work .

Im a slow motion type a guy. If youre hyperactive, work with sweat dripping off your nose, need your boat by friday or have a couple helpers, Fast will work

Fast cure epoxy is prone to waste because it kicks off before its used. When laying a long fillet, fast epoxy will firm up and make it impossible to retouch .

Viscosity of the resin is also important. I dont know RAKA. Locally I use West and Epiglass. West is Medium Viscosity and Epiglass is thin. Thin epoxy spreads like paint and wets out fabric fast. It also runs downhill and takes extra coats to fill the weave.

Portable electric heaters overnight are helpful when using slower cure times. In the morning the work piece is cured.

And no metal fasteners left in the finished product. Fasteners create a path for water to enter. Wood lasts longest if you prevent water ingress.

Working outside is a problem. Use should build a tent over your boat to control the environment and prevent the epoxy surface from becoming contaminated. The heat shrink plastic boat cover films on top of bent PVC pipe makes a cheap and effective boat shed.

4. DGreenwood

DGreenwood Senior Member

This is all good advice. I would add: