Expanding foam

Discussion in 'Materials' started by Saqa, Dec 12, 2014.

1. Saqa

Saqa Senior Member

Guys, need your assistance here. I am looking for a basic understanding of this material and looking for a quicker primer on the topic of expanding foams that can be used to make a structural plug/former by using a mold, and then be laminated over with epoxy/glass for surface sheathing and structural skinning. The aim is to explore its suitability to make a 20' or longer pontoon type floats, a pair to be used for a catamaran with a rigid full deck. I am reasonably familliar with regular methods like ply or foam flat sheet applications, the intention is to explore the expanding foam material

I should state, I have zero experience with pourable expanding foam of any sort and also starting with zero knowledge of the material. I want to go about searching on the web armed with the right questions, as it is I may not do a proper search and disregard the material after encountering search results that may not me the foam that I should be looking at subsequently fail to encounter the right foams

The properties that I am keen on learning about:

(please excuse the use of metric, I can visualize lengths in feet or inches but anything else is beyond me)

1 - Feasibility from a weights perspective; a foam plug with a volume of 2000L. The surface area of around 15 square metres laminated with 450gsm+epoxy amounts to best case of 13.5kg sheath weight. The weight of the plug plus sheath will be the total weight of the pontoon, what is the best case weight I can look at using lure grade foam?

2 - Feasibility from a structural perspective 1; Looking at a pontoon that is 6m long x 50cm wide and 70cm deep. Molded foam plug sheathed in 450gsm biaxial glass and epoxy. How strong is this structure likely to be. How much pounding can it take, opinions wise?