Epoxy economics:

Discussion in 'Fiberglass and Composite Boat Building' started by bjl_sailor, Mar 25, 2005.

1. bjl_sailor

bjl_sailor Junior Member

Hi All.

I'm a cedar strip builder who has always used West Marine 105 epoxy. As my projects get larger and I start buying in the 'C' size I've been hit by the cost of this crucial component.

Going by a well discounted Jamestown Dist Pricing SChedule, I can get:
    (5:1 mixing ratio 205 fast)

(http://www.jamestowndistributors.com/ak/Epoxy/WEST_System_Epoxy/WEST_System_Epoxy_Hardeners/index.html)

105C (4.35 gal) $266.40 + 205C (.94 gal) $96.90 = ~5gal @$363. or $73/gal
    105E (52 gal) $2210.80 + 205E $773.40 = ~55gal @ $2983. or $ $54/gal

However:

If I use US Composite Epoxy, their "635 Thin Epoxy", the price points are as follows: (http://www.shopmaninc.com/epoxy.html)
    (4:1 ratio Fast)

6.25 gallons resin/catylists @ $182.00 or $29.00/gal
    25 gallons @652.00 or $26.00/gal

Obviously the cost savings are huge. My questions are these:

Are these truelly comparable products? ( i've heard most epoxies come from 1 or several industiral suppliers and then its 'reblended' by the Sytem III's, MAS's and the WEST's out there )?

Has anyone have any hands on experience with this specific US composite E635 thin resin?

Are there other better/cheaper sources for resin in 20 to 55 gallon buying increments?

2. Rod T

Rod T Junior Member

After reading your post I came up with more questions than answers. Are you doing clear stripped cedar canoes? If you are -what are you using as a UV inhibitor for the epoxy? By West Marine do you mean West Systems?