epoxy coating a wooden boat

Discussion in 'Wooden Boat Building and Restoration' started by mickjur, Apr 2, 2009.

1. mickjur

mickjur Michael

Hi I am very new to this , I have bought a 26 ft wooden cruiser , I would like to fibreglass it , I purchased some r180 epoxy resin and hardner as well as dynel cloth and matting .

I have been advised to paint a thin mix of epoxy coating 1st ( CPES )

Do I do that and then epoxy resin over the top and then matting etc .

How many coats of thin epoxy and how many coats of rein and matting will I do

This is probably too much info ask for step by step instructions , but a good start would be great cheers michael

2. duluthboats

duluthboats Senior Dreamer

3. PAR

PAR Yacht Designer/Builder

Much depends on the type of wooden boat you have. Many types of wooden boat construction don't lend themselves well to epoxy. CPES (brand) or other penetrating epoxy is a waste of time, money and effort, but go for it if you have plenty to spare.

As a general rule, traditional wooden boat construction methods don't take well to epoxy. On the other hand, some do, particularly plywood construction.

The basic problem is, once a boat is built, you can't fully "encapsulate" the separate pieces, which is what makes epoxy so effective at preventing rot, sealing wood, etc. If you can't encapsulate the part, the epoxy is nothing more then really expensive paint and not a good idea, as it'll trap moisture in the wood, with limited avenues for it to escape, increasing the potential for rot.

In short, what do you have, it's construction method (pictures are very helpful), etc.?

Yes, there was a time when CPES cured everything and epoxy was the answer to all boat issues. Now, restorers and builders are finding out that this isn't the case and like every thing else in live, there's a time an a place for epoxy and also times when you just shouldn't use it.