Engineer with No Boat Design Experience

Discussion in 'Multihulls' started by Patrick345, Feb 18, 2018.

1. Patrick345

Patrick345 New Member

Hello!

I am a mechanical engineer who has spent most of my career in the healthcare industry. I'm interested in learning about boat design, specifically catamarans, and I would love to hear what books people recommend. It seems like Principles of Yacht Design by Lars Larssen et al. and Understanding Boat Design by Ted Brewer are great places to start, but I have heard that they make assumptions that are incorrect for multihulls. Any thoughts on this?

Other than books, have you found anything helpful? (Besides this forum of course).

I would like to make a hobby out of designing a boat and daydreaming that I will build her "one day". My initial thoughts were to revisit my stress analysis and computational fluid dynamics textbooks, but I would guess there is a better starting point.

Thank you very much for any guidance you wish to share!

Best,

Patrick

2. Ad Hoc

Ad Hoc Naval Architect

Hi patrick

Welcome to the forum.

What in particular would you like to know/learn about catamarans. Are you more interested in related subjects alone...such as stress analysis, or hydrodynamics...or...more holicatsally, in terms of the whole design as one, rather than any individual subject per se.

3. Patrick345

Patrick345 New Member

Hello Ad Hoc and thank you for your response!

At this point, I think a holistic survey of catamaran design would be a good starting point and then I can drill deeper into certain areas. My main questions at the moment are: 1) once the outermost layer is defined, how are the inner portions of the boat constructed? (I have a decent idea of fluids and stress but almost no concept of architecture 2) what are the ratios/functions/metrics/shapes that people find critical?

I could be so new to this topic that my answer isn't very helpful. If so, I apologize.

Thanks,

Patrick

4. Ad Hoc

Ad Hoc Naval Architect