Help with replacing my 318 with a 350...

Discussion in 'Inboards' started by ChrisD, Jul 5, 2012.

1. ChrisD

ChrisD New Member

Hey everyone, I am new to the forum and to marine engines. I am an aircraft mechanic and have changed and rebuilt tons of airplane engines but I have never worked on a boat or a car! :confused:
    How rough a job is it to convert from a 318 to a 350? I blew my engine striper fishing and have not been able to find a good 318 replacement. I did however get a nice deal on a 350 so I am going with that.

I want to start pulling my 318 ASAP but having never done this before I was hoping someone had a step by step guide they could post for me.

Side Note: I have the new bell housing, harness, and mounts for the 350. I also have an experienced mechanic that is going to help me drop in the new engine but I am on my own for removing the old one and prepping the area for the new one.

Any help would be great. Thanks! :)

2. PAR

PAR Yacht Designer/Builder

Buy the manual for the engine/drive you have and follow the step by step for an engine R&R.

You'll have some odds and ends to sort out, but you shouldn't have much difficulty with your experience. I mean after all, it still has prop on it, right . . .

3. gonzo

gonzo Senior Member

Did you get a marinized 350?

4. ChrisD

ChrisD New Member

That was not as bad as I thought it would be. Its ready to come out (took about an hour once I started to spin wrenches on it), just waiting on new engine and the hoist.

I am putting in a Chevy 350 marine engine that is actually written up as a remanu. heavy truck engine for marine use. Another new one to me but that's what it says in the owners manual. Has anyone ever heard of that?

As I said previously, I have the new bell housing, new engine mounts, engine harness, and a new tach. Everything else should be compatible as far as I know. Does anyone have any advice or tips?

5. PAR

PAR Yacht Designer/Builder