Mass production

Discussion in 'Fiberglass and Composite Boat Building' started by dwrolfe, Apr 10, 2014.

1. dwrolfe

dwrolfe New Member

Anyone know the best way to mass produce boat mouldings 2.5m x 1.7m?

I am working on an updated version of my earlier design www.ezyboat.com (formerly ClamBoat)

It does not have an integral trailer but does fold in half.

Thanks

David

2. DCockey

DCockey Senior Member

I'm not an expert on moulding technology but I know some questions an expert would probably ask:

What volume per year are you anticipating?
    How important is low investment to you?
    What are you quality requirements
    What appearance is needed for the reverse side of the mouldings?

3. dwrolfe

dwrolfe New Member

What volume per year are you anticipating?

How important is low investment to you?
    Lower the better but not critical given long term nature of the investment

What are you quality requirements
    Lightest weight grp

What appearance is needed for the reverse side of the mouldings?
    Underside unimportant.

4. rwatson

rwatson Senior Member

I am bit puzzled by your request,

" mass produce boat mouldings " means you want to build lots of moulds - not lots of boats.

What are you going to do with 1000 moulds a year ?

If you mean mass produce boats - what do you need to know ?

You build a mould, put glass and fibre into it, and pull the hulls out !

What is the bit that has you wondering ?

5. DCockey

DCockey Senior Member

Usage I've seen: mouldings/moldings are made in a mould/mold.

Boats may be assembled from mouldings.

Last edited: Apr 14, 2014
  6. rwatson

rwatson Senior Member

Ok, that makes sense - especially when a hull is at least two 'mouldings'

So all that remains is what the request for help is aimed at.

I suppose the problem could be all or any one of :

Material specs and sourcing
    Staff training
    Safety Manuals and Legislative requirements
    Mould Supporting Structures