Georgian Steel boat

Discussion in 'Powerboats' started by rzanussi, Jul 30, 2006.

1. rzanussi

rzanussi Junior Member

I am new to the group and to boat restoration but have done several cars over the years. I now have island property in Georgian Bay and as there is no road access my old car hobby has had to go. I have no experience with steel hulled vessels, or any with a vessel this size. I have several fibreglass boats, the largest a 21' Monterey 210 HP stern drive.

I am considering a 1975 34' (without the swim platform) Georgian Steel boat. It has twin Chrylsers V8s which I am told have been properly prepared for long term storage. It has been out of the water for 6 yrs. It has always been used in fresh water. The vessel is a project and the entire interior with the exception of the head has been gutted. It does come with a number of items, propane stove, ogen (I think) generator etc. I have not seen the vessel in person yet but there is one large section of rust visible in the pictures. It is about the size of the human head and seems to be above the waterline.

My questions are how good are the Georgian Steel boats, I will be using this for freshwater use on Georgian Bay. I suspect the visible rust is very easily repaired and the seller claims that is all the rust there is on it. Is there anything I should be wary of considering this is a steel hull vessel? Any concerns on the Chrysler engines?

I am able to weld and also do a lot of woodworking.

Any thoughts/hints/suggestions, either good or bad would be appreciated.

Thanks a lot

Rob

2. marshmat

marshmat Senior Member

Welcome aboard, Rob.

I'd take a look in person, if I were you. It's pretty hard to tell from photos just what condition a boat is really in. I take it you've got a bit of a drive to get to it?