Small 2 seat speed boat

Discussion in 'Boat Design' started by loudandfast, Sep 6, 2023.

1. loudandfast

loudandfast New Member

Hey everyone, I'm pretty new to building boats. I built a small hydroplane when I was young and I also helped a friend build a minimax. Now I'm wanting to build another one this winter. I want a smallish boat (somewhere in the neighborhood of 14 feet) that can carry 2 adults and would be good for 60+ MPH. I would like to do some sort of an inboard engine ( probably a PWC engine between 80 and 150HP) and a homebuilt surface drive. What models do you recommend? Should I be thinking hydroplane or vee? The river I'll be using it on is smooth except for the occasional wake boat coming by, so it'll need to be able to handle that. I like the idea of the clarkcraft 14ft tunnel but it wouldn't work with an inboard. I like the looks of the clarkcraft airborne 11 but of course it's not big enough. Maybe it's possible to scale it up? Thanks!

2. gonzo

gonzo Senior Member

The so called "surface drives" are really only one way to run a ventilated propeller. You can do the same with an outboard at less cost, weight and complication. Your target speed makes the design critical. Small mistakes in design and construction that would be irrelevant at 20 mph will be deadly at 60+. I recommend you find an existing design and preferably get help from an experienced boat builder. If speed and two occupants are constraints, then the type of hull, engine and drive will be determined by them.

3. loudandfast

loudandfast New Member