Electrical tear down 79 s&s swan

Discussion in 'OnBoard Electronics & Controls' started by Jan_Sorensen, Nov 24, 2018.

1. Jan_Sorensen

Jan_Sorensen New Member

I will be installing a new mastervolt charging and inverter system into a 1979 s&s swan 57'. I am currently in the process of understanding the inner workings of this 38 year old boat and what needs to stay and what needs to go. The current set up is diesel generator220vac/diesel engine alternator24vdc for direct 24vdc use/battery charger for the 24v bank. The bank is 8 12v series parallel lead acid batteries that will be getting replaced with agm batteries of similar output.Is there any one here with knowledge on the operation of old systems and electronics that have simply become outdated or replaced with more efficient devices? I am an electrician by trade but have never worked on marine application. The hardest part is not being able to see the current set up as it is buried throughout the boat. I have schematics and wiring diagrams to assist but years of "do it yourself" wiring seems to plague this boat. Essentially any tips or ideas on thought processes and troubleshooting ideas would be greatly appreciated.

2. missinginaction

missinginaction Senior Member