refiberglassing my rudder

Discussion in 'Sailboats' started by bluwateronly, Aug 8, 2006.

1. bluwateronly

bluwateronly Junior Member

I have a 26' 1968 Ericson sailboat. I just got it and it's been on the hard for years. The only problem I see is cracks in the rudder. I took it off and checked it out and the cracks are only through the gelcoat, (cracking off). I think the best thing to do is to lay some fiberglass after I sand it good. Any help on this would be great, I have never done fiberglass before but does not seem to hard. Thanks, Bluwateronly

2. gonzo

gonzo Senior Member

If you are going to fiberglass, all the gelcoat needs to be removed or the resin will delaminate.

3. bluwateronly

whats the best method for gelcoat removal

Thanks for the info Gonzo. Do I just need to sand till I see the fiberglass or is there a better way. Some of it I was able to chip off with a putty knife. I'm hoping to just use a palm sander to get the rest off. Any tips would be great. And also when I re-instal the rudder is there a better greese than others to use. Thanks, Bluwateronly

4. kenJ

kenJ Senior Member

Are you sure it is the gel coat that is cracking? I would guess it is a salt water boat so it should have some sort of bottom paint on it. For the repair remove all the loose material by sanding. If it is just gel coat, a new layer of cloth may not be necessary, just apply a new coat of resin. For repairs, epoxy resin is preferred over polyester. After the resin is cured, apply a good coat of barrier paint.

5. bluwateronly

looks like gelcoat thats cracking