efi

Discussion in 'Gas Engines' started by whitepointer23, Jan 13, 2011.

1. whitepointer23

whitepointer23 Previous Member

i am probably rehashing old topics here, but i would like to know if i can get an aftermarket harness and computer so i can use late model efi 302's in a boat, i like the instant start and sealed systems you get with efi, i am not worried about the mechanical part of the job ie: fitting in tank pumps and return lines, but i am not very good with the computer side of things. can you bypass temp and oxygen sensors with after market computer. i just want a basic system if thats possible using as much of the original system as possible.

2. gonzo

gonzo Senior Member

Marine EFI does not have a return line. It is a bolt on to a carburated if you get the Throttle body injection.

3. whitepointer23

i understand what you are saying but i am talking about 302 rollercam efi engines that were in ford cars here from 1992 to 2000, they are plentiful and a very good engine, i need to know how to set up the computer side of things for marine use. the auto computer is connected to a lot of sytems in the car and will not run unless it modified.

4. gonzo

gonzo Senior Member

I donĀ“t know about the car version, but is it spark proof on the relays, etc? Also, the camshaft is not ideal for a boat installation. You will find it hard to get up on plane.

5. whitepointer23