whats required to build in aluminum

Discussion in 'Boat Design' started by Paulv, Jun 19, 2009.

1. Paulv

Paulv New Member

I'm new to boat building. I was geared up to build in plywood but am wondering if Its much harder to build in aluminum. I want to build a semi-dory. something lilke Tracy O'briens headwater 18.

2. mydauphin

mydauphin Senior Member

You can use a lot of the same tools, the hardest part is learning to weld aluminum. There are many excellent books. Build other stuff first to get practice, like boxes, panels, anchors then work you way to hull . Look at sites that have origami boats. Some ideas, more later. Just make sure you use MARINE ALUMINUM from a GOOD Aluminum Supplier, 5000 series AL. Don't let people sell you bargain other AL that is just as good, it isn't. Aluminum is very strong if built well, and very light. Don't think like wood, think like an airplane...

3. Guest62110524

Guest62110524 Previous Member

http://www.boatdesign.net/gallery/showgallery.php/cat/500/ppuser/28346

take a look here, there is a boat in there partly plated, upside down(last time and first time I ever build wrong way up) It is the first al al boat I ever made
    If you are not a welder of any discription , then yes that will be the challenge
    Possibly you may have to go to school, night classes our whatever to learn this, You then have to commit to a rather expensive rig to weld the stuff You COULD build a dory using a single phase welder and a standard push gun In this case its easier to feed the wire if you suspend the welding power pack above the job, so gravity helps the wire to feed If the wire does not feed properly and you are using a machine that is not programmed, then the wire speed drops, the volts stay same and the wire burns back into the tip and drives one nuts
    But do not be afraid , you can do it