Dynarig system

Discussion in 'Boat Design' started by Miquel Viver, Dec 3, 2008.

1. Miquel Viver

Miquel Viver New Member

I'm a student of navigation on the university of Barcelona (Spain)and I need information about dynarig.
    After two weeks I found some articles but there are some things that i can't understand.
    First of all, how much efficient is the dynarig than the tradicional sails?
    What is the power of the motors of each mast? They are electric motors?
    And the last one, is true that the mast can resist the wind without any rope between the top of the masts or the deck?¿ I can't understan how the base of the mast can resist force without break.

Sorry for my mistakes but I need to improve my english level. ejjeje

Thanks for your answers.

PD: if there are somebody who speak spanish and know about it, can send me a private message.

2. Eric Sponberg

Eric Sponberg Senior Member

The Dynarig as on Maltese Falcon has got to be an engineering marvel (if not a nightmare, depending on your point of view). Certainly, a lot of thought and calculation went into its design. I do not have any inside knowledge of the rig or the yacht, and I have no notions about whether or not it is more efficient than a conventional. One would have to look at model test results or comparative CFD calculations to give an opinion. I have not seen or heard anyone discuss that in engineering detail.