New here with first project

Discussion in 'Boatbuilding' started by hondaracin338, Apr 14, 2011.

1. hondaracin338

hondaracin338 New Member

Hey whats up guys? New to this forum as well to boats. was browsing craigslist yesterday and stumbled upon an ad for a free boat. First thought was..ah its prolly a pos.. it looked good from the outside so i said screw it..lemme drive over and take a look. well this led to that and i ended up haulin her home. its a 1962 larson 17 footer. heres a few pics..tell me what u guys think, and if im getting in over my head..

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]
    like i said..i have limited knowledge when it comes to boats. I know the wood needs replacing, the stringers seem solid and intact, transom in rock solid, hulls in great shape. To me, it just looks like it needs wood/fiberglass work, paint, and other little odds and ends. What do you guys think?

2. hoytedow

hoytedow Carbon Based Life Form

We welcome you to the forum hondaracin338. What are your carpentry skills?

3. cthippo

cthippo Senior Member

Welcome aboard, honda!

Assuming the hull itself is in good shape then replacing the decks shouldn't be too bad. Fundamentally, there isn't much to a boat like this. I would seal the stringers with epoxy and then put down marine plywood for the floor and seal that with epoxy. I would also consider filling the space between the hull and floor with 2 part expanding foam, but that's up to you.

4. hondaracin338

hondaracin338 New Member