New To Boatbuilding, Need Some Tips

Discussion in 'Boat Design' started by DrummerVT, Jun 12, 2016.

1. DrummerVT

DrummerVT New Member

Hello, im dakota! Im 17 and new to boatbuilding.... As in i've never built one before. I'm Wanting to build my own fiberglass boat. Not that this is relevant but in july 2017 i will be starting college at Marine Mechanics Institute in Orlando, Florida
    That being said i have a few questions.

Question 1.) I have a rough image in my head of what i want it to look like, and i want to draw it up in some sort of 3D modeling program so i can be 100% certian i like the shape. Is there some sort of FREE software/Program i can download that will let me design an entire boat in full detail?

Question 2.) I Am mainly using this for walleye fishing, but i want it to look like a speedboat. And i also want to be able to use it for saltwater bayfishing. What type of hull should i make? Deep V?

Question 3.) will each layer of fiberglass increase the weight capacity of the boat? Or are those 2 factors irrelevant to eachother? Id like to build this boat so it could hold Around 4000-6000 LBS

Question 4.) whats the best way to buld the hull without a mold?

Question 5.) How would i make the transom fit 2 100hp Outboard main motors and a 20hp Outboard trolling motor? And how would i need to measure spacing to find where the motors need to be mounted?

Question 6.) i plan on the boat having the following dimensions
    Length Bow-Stern: 20'
    Beam Width: 8'
    Stern Width: 8'

how would i calculate how deep to make the hull If I want the deck to sit 6" above the waterline?

2. messabout

messabout Senior Member

Whooo eee Drummer VT. You have a lot of questions.

I pause to welcome you to the forum. There are some generous and helpful people here who will work with you as long as you are "straight up" with them.