rerigging columbia 29

Discussion in 'Sailboats' started by chrisv, May 10, 2008.

1. chrisv

chrisv New Member

I am currently negotiating to buy a columbia 29 that needs a lot of work (I've been sailing for a few years but this is my first boat). One job that I know is going to need to be done is completely rerigging the boat. I would like to have it done professionally. Can anyone give me some idea what rigging might cost (assume starting over from scratch)?

My overall plan for this summer is to haul the boat out. In addition to having the rigging redone, I hope to sand and paint the mast. I will repair the few soft spots in the deck. I will have current non working gas engine and gas tank removed, as well as the propellor. I guess I will grind out and glass over any holes in the hull that this causes. Hull finish is dull and ugly. Should I sand and paint hull with epoxy and then awlgrip? (going to repower with outboard) I also want to have someone check the rudder to make sure it is good shape, and have it fixed if necessary. In addition I will check the hull to deck joint all around the boat. After this work I'm hoping to have a boat that I can put into the water and sail safely. (I'll worry about interior next year)

If anyone would care to comment on this list of work in terms of what I might try myself and what I should leave to professionals or estimates or wild guesses on costs? Please let me know. Oh, and the reason I'm doing this is because after all of this work is done I will own a Sparkman and Stevens designed boat that strikes me as safe as well as beautiful.

Thanks in advance for any advice,
    Chris

2. sharpii2

sharpii2 Senior Member

Hi, Chris.

Since nobody else has responded, I will.

I was hoping someone more knowledgeable than I would.

To me, it looks like you are looking at HUGE yard bills, if you want to hire all this work out.

What you really are talking about is a total refit.