Instructions for designing a new Propeller

Discussion in 'Propulsion' started by Gokul, Jul 4, 2010.

1. Gokul

Gokul Student

Hi Everyone,

I'm new to this forum as well the topic ship design. I would like to introduce myself as Gokul, an university student. Currently I started a project on designing a propeller for a yacht (YD 40)

As I'm totally new to propeller design, it would of great help if somebody give me the instruction (steps to be followed) while designing a propeller..

Initially I started with choosing the Engine and my engine was YANMAR that is 26kW @ 3000 RPM... and my gear ratio is 2.5..

And I have all the specification of my boat YD 40..

But I'm little bit confused with, how to start and where to start???

Appreciate your time and help and for the valuable comments...

2. jehardiman

jehardiman Senior Member

Your cart is way before your horse.....

First, decide how fast you want to go and the maximum propeller diameter.

They you work up the most efficient wheel.

Engines and gears are the last thing to check ...

Do you want to design a wheel totaly from scratch? Or use an existing series?

FWIW, I saw a student design team develop a propeller for thier senior project once. The wheels diameter ended up being 3m to work with the speed and engines they wanted...problem was, they drew a hull that only had 1m between the shaft CL and the hull....a professor caught that in the middle of thier presentation.

3. Gokul

Gokul Student

thanks jehardiman for your suggestions.....

Okay... let me put this in another way....

My main concern was about the material for the propeller...... Actually i'm working on the project, how does selection of material affects the propeller efficiency and how its related to designing stage of the propeller...