does anybody have the answer

Discussion in 'Propulsion' started by 1st timer, Jun 2, 2007.

1. 1st timer

1st timer New Member

i really need help im new to the boating life i love it , anyway i just got a 25ft cobia i really like the boat but it does need some work heres my problem i need to get a battery for it never came with one the guy took it out so ,, DOES ANYBODY KNOW WHAT SIZE BATTERY I NEED ??????????????
    THE MOTOR IS A 5.7L ALPHAONE MERCRUISER
    THE BOAT IS A 1988 COBIA ODDESSY please help me thats the only problem i got right now ill be fine with everything else thank u so much hope to hear good news soon

Last edited: Jun 2, 2007
  2. lazeyjack

lazeyjack Guest

just get the biggest cranking battery that will fit is the hole!!
    batterys can nevr be too big, but they can be too small

3. marshmat

marshmat Senior Member

Welcome aboard :)
    A few points I can suggest for you.
    - Figure out what you need to run off the battery. Is it just for starting the motor, or do you also have fishfinders, GPS, stereo, etc that you need to run with the engine off?
    - Always err on the high side when it comes to battery capacity. The performance penalty for having an extra 10 kg of battery is far less trouble than finding a foot of water in the bilge, turning on the bilge pump, and having it whirr nicely to a stop in ten seconds.
    - Writing in full sentences, no capslock, makes it a lot easier to read your questions and encourages more people to help out.
    When you have a list of the equipment you need to run off your battery and how long you want to be able to run it for, get back to us and we'll be able to help you out a bit more.

4. PAR

PAR Yacht Designer/Builder

Typically, you'd run a group 24, which is about 10 1/2" long, by 6 3/4" wide, by 9" tall. The cold cranking amps on these (a few different models) range from the low 400's to 700 amps. This is enough battery to start your engine, run your bilge pump, nav lights, radio, etc.