Transom Replacement

Discussion in 'Boatbuilding' started by chapelhill90, Apr 24, 2012.

1. chapelhill90

chapelhill90 New Member

Hey guys, I know there are 10000 different post on proper ways to rebuild transoms/fix old problems etc. but I am a complete amateur when it comes to this kind of thing and need to make sure I am on the right track/see which direction to head now. I have a 1983(ish) Ebbtide Dynatrak bass boat which had the tilt and trim replaced on it about 2 years ago. Well the very next trip to the lake after it was fixed I realized the boat was taking on a great deal of water. We rushed back home and realized that the lower motor mount had cracked through the fiberglass and created a entry point for water.

Well Monday we decided to pull the motor and get an idea of how bad the transom really was, it appeared like the interior wood was still good until we opened up the cracks a little farther and realized all of the interior wood was rotten. So we cut the cap off the transom and stripped the whole interior of the transom out. The two "cracks" in the rear skin of the transom were made bigger into on hole approx. 3 inches tall and about 10 inches long. The interior skin had already been cut into a hole at approx 2 inches tall and about 6 inches long.

We are planning on using 5 gallons of seacoast poured in the transom (it has been ordered and is on its way) but I am just a little concerned with how the fiberglass will holdup or if we are even taking the correct methods to do this rebuild. We have began putting fiberglass over the interior skin hole, I just want to make sure we are going the right way. Any tips/tricks would be greatly appreciated! Below is a picture of the back of the transom with the size hole we have at this moment.

[​IMG]

2. PAR

PAR Yacht Designer/Builder