How to Make Small Catamaran.

Discussion in 'Boat Design' started by rtbreeder, Jul 24, 2011.

1. rtbreeder

rtbreeder Junior Member

I'm 11 years old, and I've been sailing a Hobie wave for 4 years. (I'm a 3rd generation sailer) Its great, But I cant right it when I flip. (I only way 65 pounds). I have a pretty good idea on how things work on a boat, and my dad is very handy. I designed 7' catamaran, and took out a tape measure and sat down in it. I'd l plan on making it with entirley homemade materials, because i've never heard of a catamaran that small. I like the size. Idealy, I'd like to be able to right it myself. I've never built a catamaran before. Any tips would be appreciated. Thanks!!

-rt

2. Richard Woods

Richard Woods Woods Designs

I think 7ft is too small, as you say the smallest beach cats have been around 10-12ft. Even if it looks good now you don't want to outgrow it before next season

One reason why the smallest/simplest cat I have designed is the 14ft Pixie

You might also consider the 3m (10ft) trimaran class

Richard Woods of Woods Designs

www.sailingcatamarans.com

3. rtbreeder

rtbreeder Junior Member

Thanks, But my brother is on the way.